ALERT: US Bank Stadium event this Sunday. Patient and visitor parking is available in HCMC and Hospital parking ramps at regular rates. See Parking During Events on the Directions & Parking page for details.

Wiernik Andres

Andres Wiernik, MD

Commitment to Patient-Centered Care

“My goal is to provide the best care possible to my patients without exception. I value the opportunity and the priviledge to care for cancer patients in a compassionate and humanistic way. I deeply enjoy the relationship I establish with my patients and their families and strive to treat each patient as if they were part of my family.”

Clinical Expertise

Dr. Wiernik is originally from Costa Rica and graduated from UCIMED medical school. His medical research career includes fellowships and internships at the Karolinska Cancer Center in Sweden, University of Turin in Italy, PeterMac Cancer Center in Australia and the University of Minnesota. Dr. Wiernik completed his internal medicine residency at Hennepin County Medical Center and his fellowship in Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation at the University of Minnesota. During his medical education, he received several teaching awards and honors from Hennepin County Medical Center and the University of Minnesota. Dr. Wiernik has an expertise in the field of cancer immunology and immunotherapy. He currently chairs the Breast Cancer Committee at Hennepin Health System.


  • Rosenstein BE, Ives ST, Wiernik A. A Clue in JAK2: Masked Polycythemia Vera Am J Med. 2016 Oct;129(10):1051-3. doi: 10.1016/j.amjmed.2016.06.030. No abstract available.
  • Gleason MK, Ross JA, Warlick ED, Lund TC, Verneris MR, Wiernik A, Spellman S, Haagenson MD, Lenvik AJ, Litzow MR, Epling-Burnette PK, Blazar BR, Weiner LM, Weisdorf DJ, Vallera DA, Miller JS. CD16xCD33 bispecific killer cell engager (BiKE) activates NK cells against primary MDS and MDSC CD33+ targets Blood. 2014 May 8;123(19):3016-26. doi: 10.1182/blood-2013-10-533398.
  • Wiernik A, Foley B, Zhang B, Verneris MR, Warlick E, Gleason MK, Ross JA, Luo X, Weisdorf DJ, Walcheck B, Vallera DA, Miller JS. Targeting natural killer cells to acute myeloid leukemia in vitro with a CD16 x 33 bispecific killer cell engager and ADAM17 inhibition. Clin Cancer Res. 2013 Jul 15;19(14):3844-55. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-13-0505.
  • Wiernik A, Sperr WR, Weisdorf D, Valent P, Ustun C. Am J Hematol. Does high-dose cytarabine cause cumulative toxicity in patients undergoing consolidation therapy for acute myeloid leukemia? 2013 Jun;88(6):533-4. doi: 10.1002/ajh.23440. No abstract available.
  • Pegram HJ, Ritchie DS, Smyth MJ, Wiernik A, Prince HM, Darcy PK, Kershaw MH. Alloreactive natural killer cells in hematopoietic stem cell transplantation. Leuk Res. 2011 Jan;35(1):14-21. doi: 10.1016/j.leukres.2010.07.030. Review.

Medical School

  • Universidad de Ciencias Medicas, SAN JOSÉ, COSTA RICA


  • Internal Medicine, Hennepin Healthcare, Minneapolis, MN, USA


  • Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA
  • Tumor Immunology, Karolinska Cancer Center, STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN

Media, Newsletters and Videos

Professional Affiliations

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • American Society of Hematology
  • American Association of Cancer Research Board
  • Minnesota Society of Clinical Oncology Board
  • Medical Executive Committee, Hennepin County Medical Center


  • Board Certified in Internal Medicine
  • Board Certified in Hematology
  • Board Certified in Medical Oncology
  • Enrolled in Executive MBA Program, Chicago Booth Business School


  • Minnesota Best Doctors, 2016, Medical Oncology and Hematology, Minnesota Monthly
  • Distinguished Teaching Award, 2015, University of Minnesota, Division of Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation
  • Department of Medicine Distinguished Staff Teaching Award, 2015, Hennepin County Medical Center
  • Alpha Omega Alpha, Honor Medical Society, 2011
  • Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award, 2010
  • Minnesota Medical Foundation, Distinguished Teaching Award, 2010
  • Hennepin County Medical Center Best Teacher Resident Award, Internal Medicine Program, 2010
  • Hennepin County Medical Center Best Teacher Resident Award, Transitional Residency Program 2010