HCMC physicians, researchers fill top spots of orthopaedic organizations

by Hennepin Healthcare

Orthopaedic professionals at Hennepin County Medical Center serve in leadership roles with Andrew Schmidt, MD, Joan Bechtold, PhD, and David Templeman, MD filling some top spots of several national organizations this year.  These physicians and researchers are part of a legacy of leadership in orthopaedics at HCMC.

Andrew Schmidt, MD, is president of the Orthopaedic Trauma Association (OTA). The association promotes excellence in care for the injured patient through scientific forums and support of musculoskeletal research and education.

Dr. Schmidt is also a leading researcher in traumatic and cause-complicated extremity injuries, and was quoted in a recent USA Today article about injuries incurred in the Boston Marathon bombing. Dr. Schmidt leads HCMC’s participation in a research partnership sponsored by the Department of Defense that brings many civilian trauma centers together to work with military surgeons to study battlefield injuries and improve care for injured military personnel. The results of this important research is also applied to improve treatment of civilian trauma.

Joan Bechtold

Joan Bechtold

Joan Bechtold, PhD, is president of the Orthopaedic Research Society. With a membership of 2,800 clinicians, engineers and biologists, the society strives to be the world’s leading forum for the dissemination of new musculoskeletal research findings. Bechtold is Director of the Orthopaedic Biomechanics Laboratory at Excelen Center for Bone and Joint Research and Education, and a researcher at the Minneapolis Medical Research Foundation, and Gustilo Professor of Orthopaedic Biomechanics Research at the University of Minnesota.

Bechtold’s main research focus is on improving the bone-implant interface in revision joint replacement, for which she has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) since 1995. With Department of Defense and Orthopaedic Trauma Association support, she investigates bone healing in musculoskeletal infection and trauma.

David Templeman, MD, is the chair-elect of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Board of Specialty Societies. The Board of Specialty Societies brings together the leaders of musculoskeletal societies to address issues of mutual concern such as advocacy, continuing medical education, research, and residency and fellowship issues. The board also serves as a resource and advisory entity to the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

A leading pelvic trauma surgeon, Dr. Templeman serves as a member of the Editorial Board for the Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma, and as a reviewer for the Journal of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research, the Journal of Trauma, and the Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery. He also served as president of OTA in 2009.

HCMC’s long history of orthopaedic leadership and innovation began with Dr. Ramon Gustilo, MD, a pioneer in orthopaedic research and care, who was the first OTA president in 1985. Richard Kyle, MD, Chief of Orthopaedics, was also one of the founding members of OTA and served as its president in 1991. He also served as the president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery from 2006-2007.

The Orthopaedic Department’s legacy of  leadership is one of innovation and excellence that continues today with Dr. Kyle and the rest of HCMC’s orthopaedic team as they make a difference in the lives of patients every day.  For more information about HCMC’s Orthopaedic Department, go to hcmc.org.