The DAISY Award at Hennepin Healthcare

Rewarding Excellence in Nursing

What is the DAISY Award?

The DAISY Award is an international program that rewards excellence in nursing. It was created by the DAISY Foundation to recognize the clinical skills, extraordinary compassion and care exhibited by nurses every day. The award is given to outstanding licensed nursing professionals in more than 2,600 healthcare facilities, in all 50 states, and in 15 countries.

DAISY Award recipients personify Hennepin Healthcare’s remarkable patient experience. These individuals consistently demonstrate excellence through clinical expertise, extraordinary service, and compassionate care and are recognized as outstanding role models in the nursing community.

How do I nominate a nurse?

Patients, visitors, employees, and/or physicians may nominate a deserving nurse by completing the nomination form below the current nominees.

Hennepin Healthcare DAISY Award Honorees

2024 DAISY Award Honorees

January | Christina Jones

February | Brandon Bistodeau 

March | Abdulai Sefoi 

2023 DAISY Award Honorees

December | Maria Criselda Tropezado

November | Dennise Lopez-Miranda

October | Allisa Velasco 

September | Megan Schmidt

August | Mai Stigen

July | Brittany Puckett 

June | Joshua Stenglein

May | Darin Lulich 

April | Jessica Wiliams

March | Danielle Nelson

February | Angela Sinclair 

January | James McMurray 

2022 DAISY Award Honorees

December | Amin Hassan

November | Kelly Waldera 

October | Tenzin Lhamo 

September | Ronald "Jim" La Luzerne 

August | Addiction Medicine Nurses

August | Trish Filipi

July | Kristin McGrath

June | Dixie Lindsey 

May | Jenna Frost 

April | Mary Soligny

March | Nancy Gehrenbeck-Miller

February | Hanna Gulden

January | Robert Moxley-Goldsmith 

2021 DAISY Award Honorees

December | Kathleen Ahmann

November | Nhia Vang

October | John Leppla

September | Michele Anderson

August | Colin Western

July | Darla Groshens

June | Patricia Dreher

May | Kimberly Schneider

April | Irene Tuschner

March | Jessica Shapiro

February | Karen Colby

January | Valerie Martenson

2020 DAISY Award Honorees

Stroke Team Leaders | 2020

December | Susan Meagher

November | Nicole Krummel

October | Meghan Hofer

September | Connie Buerkle

August | Amy Love

July | Stephanie Hoffman

June | Molly Blum

May | Kathryn Piha 

April | Margaret Von Lehe

March | Barbara Fabian

February | Wendee Christensen

January | Donna Nelson

2019 DAISY Award Honorees

December | Angie Rangitsch

November | Shay Sylvester

October | John Strong & Nurse Telehealth Team

September | Bobbi Sandberg

August | Firewoini "Rita" Kebede

July | Mary “Sue” Meeks

June | Vera Daskalyuk

May | Jennifer “Jenna” Haas

April | Travis Hutchins

March | Julie Coffey

February | Maureen "Mo" Des Marais

January | Beth Washick Miller