Trauma Prevention Program

Treating trauma patients and preventing injuries

Since 1989, Hennepin Healthcare has been providing trauma prevention programs in collaboration with schools, community groups, and other healthcare providers.

As Minnesota's first Level 1 Trauma Center, Hennepin Healthcare is not only committed to the treatment of trauma patients but to providing patients, clients and the broader community with proactive trauma prevention programs.

Hennepin Healthcare's trauma prevention programs address injuries that may occur at any age. Working in collaboration with other safety-oriented coalitions and partners, our staff provides both direct education as well as technical assistance to the other health care providers and community groups to address their specific injury concerns.


Philbrook Julie Contact

Julie Philbrook, RN, DNP, MAN, MAL

Trauma Prevention Program Coordinator

[email protected]

Julie Philbrook, RN, DNP, MAN, MAL, has been a registered nurse at Hennepin Healthcare for more than 34 years. She holds a Doctorate in Nursing Practice, as well as master’s degrees in Leadership and Nursing from Augsburg College. She has worked in the field of Trauma Prevention for more than 25 years. Prior to this position, she was a Senior Staff Nurse in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit.

Julie has been the state coordinator for the THINK FIRST Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Prevention program for 25 years. She has planned and coordinated countless injury programs including bike rodeos, high school mock car crashes, worksite programs, and car seat safety events. She has received several prevention grants; including a four-year Robert Wood Johnson funded Injury Free Coalition for Kids project grant. She was one of the first child passenger safety technician instructors in the nation and a founding member of the MN Child Passenger Safety Advisory Board.

In 2001 she was honored by her peers with the first Minnesota Injury Prevention Professional Award. In 2012, she was recognized again with the MN Champions of Child Safety Award. Other awards include the HCMC Excellence in Nursing Award, the AAA Minneapolis Safety Hero Award, and the Hennepin County Star Performer Service Improvement Award. In 2017, she received the Minnesota Towards Zero Deaths (TZD) Child Passenger Safety Star award.